Rhubarb cakes galore!

Rhubarb polenta cakes

It’s that time of year again when I just cannot resist the stalks of prettily pink rhubarb.

They seems to signal spring and a time for swapping our heavy winter clothes for something lighter and brighter.

I made a batch of mini rhubarb polenta cakes earlier this week, took along a few cakes to meetings with Slow Food UK and The Neon Birdcage, shared some with our Savvy Cook clients and….. ate the remainder ourselves!

I realised afterwards that I should have photographed the cakes upside down: the rhubarb chunks sink to the bottom of the cake so that side looks much more interesting than the brown top.

You live and learn!

No cakes left as I write, but I am sure we’ll do these tasty little cakes again soon.

I love receiving recipes, especially family recipes and this one takes some beating:

Chase family North Dakota rhubarb cake

The recipe looks easy enough and uses buttermilk so it is not wholly unlike the rhubarb polenta cake minus the polenta.

I will let you know how I get on with it and promise to include a picture of the cake’s at it most appealing angle.

Wishing you a delicious weekend when it comes round!

Monique

2 responses to “Rhubarb cakes galore!

  1. Yum! Springtime always makes me think of tart rhubarb. It doesn’t grow here in the Southwest where I live now but your polenta cakes look grand! If I make it to the midwest this year, I’ll look them up again!

    • Hi Tammy, I am glad my rhubarb musings made you think of Spring. Did you know that forced rhubarb, which is what is in the shops now, is harvested by candlelight? How romantic is that! It makes it all the more special but I just love the colour, an amazing pink, especially at this time of year. Watch this space again soon for the North Dakota rhubarb cake… Best, Monique

Leave a Reply

